Maddox’s Birth Story

Two weeks post-partum and I am able to finally share Maddox’s birth story with you all. 

So this birth experience was a complete different one from Brielle’s and in a good way. When we found out that I was pregnant this second time, my husband had just been let go from his job, I was (and still am) working part time, and we had zero insurance. So needless to say, I was super stressed about it all but in a miraculous way, I was able to find an amazing doctor who made the entire experience amazing. I owe her for making this birth so much easier and enjoyable with everything the body goes through during labor. 

Anyways, at my 38 week appointment, I was only 2 cm dilated and Maddox was measuring fairly big for my five-foot frame. So we discussed inducing at 39 weeks, which I was also induced with Brielle at 39 weeks, since she also measured big (I carry & birth big babies).

So on Halloween night, around 10:30 pm, I went to the hospital with my husband, Phil, and the process started. I was having back contractions and they told me I was 3 cm dilated, but my contractions were still inconsistent, so they were just monitored until the following morning where the petocin would be put in. 

All of us getting anxious to meet Maddox

At 7:30 in the morning, bright and early, they started the petocin and checked on me regularly. It actually went pretty quickly because by 10 or 11 a.m., I was already at 5 cm dilated. I was also able to get my epidural, which I am ALL about! It truly makes the whole process easier since you don’t feel any pain of the contractions. 

When it got close to push time, the doctor was called because the nurses were a little worried about the baby based off the monitors. Luckily, it wasn’t anything major and my doctor helped me throughout the process of pushing. She was talking to me, telling me when to push, she even joked with me! I was actually laughing while pushing out a baby! LOL 

So at 2:24 p.m., with only pushing for about 40 minutes (I was in labor with Brielle for 31 hours, and I pushed for 3 hours) Maddox James Pridmore made his debut, weighing 8 pounds, 10 ounces and being 19 inches long. He was perfectly healthy and made me a proud momma again! 

Phil holding Maddox for the first time

Later on, once I was moved to the after delivery floor, my parents brought Brielle to meet her baby brother for the first time. My heart melted when she saw him and all she did was touch him and make cute faces because she saw the “baby”. It was such an amazing moment and two, almost three, weeks later she is still completely in love with her brother. 


So I am a mother of two under two and I couldn’t imagine my life without both of my babies. Birthing children is such an amazing blessing and experience and even though I was so ready to have Maddox out because I was so uncomfortably huge, I did enjoy being pregnant and feeling all the movements again. Now I am just adjusting to juggling two children that are 18 months apart and trying to enjoy my time off with them. 

Mom life is truly the best life! 


Abuelo & Abuela (my parents) in love with Maddox

Leave a Reply

